WOZ UP: Year In Review | A Look Back At 2015 – A Season Of Change

A personal look behind the scenes of MXPTV.

The 2015 year was one wild year for MXPTV. In this year's annual Year In Review write up, I'll go through what MXPTV has been through these past 365 days. Keep in mind, on the video side, it's mostly myself that shot and produced all the videos you see here at MXPTV with some help on the helmet cam side of things from Michael Vizer, my brother, Tyler, and others throughout the year. It's mostly been a solo project here besides the action packed summer I had (more on that later). Let's go look back at what went down!

MXPTV Gate Dropped To Kick Off 2015

gatedropGA

During the opening SX rounds, I produced a series of weekly videos called MXPTV Gate Drop. Will this make a return in 2016?

To kick off the 2015 year and kill some time before the winter made its way out, I put together a series of 7 episodes (2 of them in late December 2014) describing what went down in the past week in the dirt bike world called MXPTV Gate Drop. I did the voice over work which is not much my specialty but I gave it a go anyway. It was something different. Once the spring was on the horizon and started traveling again, I stopped doing them. But maybe it'll make a return one day once I can find someone with a better voice than what I got. The James Stewart episode in late 2014 after his drug decision was handed down was the top Gate Drop episode generating over 70,000 views.

Arenacross Madness

axprevegas

These 2 went right down to the final main event in Vegas and made it one of the most exciting AMSOIL Arenacross finales ever.

I attended 3 AMSOIL Arenacross rounds in 2015: Cincinnati, OH, Wilkes-Barre, PA, and Las Vegas, NV. Cincinnati was the opening round and wow, what a stacked event that was with everyone chasing those Ricky Carmichael Road To Supercross points, which made a more serious approach to up and coming pros throughout the sport. Qualifying that day went on forever it felt like in Cincinnati! Overall, I shot and produced highlight videos from each of the 3 rounds and also threw in some Battles and Raw videos. You liked them and I'll continue to do more going into 2016. The big hit from my Arenacross visits was my clip of the collision of the series between championship front runners Kyle Regal and Jacob Hayes. It came down to the final main event with whoever was in front of the other was going to win the title. It was dramatic right off the gate and into that 2nd / 3rd turn. I'll talk more about this clip in our Top Videos Of 2015 post coming soon this week at MXPTV. It was the true definition of arenacross! This was the most intense racing moment of 2016 in my opinion and luckily, I had the camera rolling throughout the whole time.
AMSOIL Arenacross makes its return to Baltimore in just a few weeks!

AMSOIL Arenacross makes its return to Baltimore in just a few weeks!

As far as coverage goes, expect more in 2016 as I'll be at the first 4 rounds of 2016 in Cincinnati, OH, Baltimore, MD, Allentown, PA, and Greensboro, NC. I'm planning on a couple more rounds after that with possibly Vegas again so stay tuned to my Schedule each week for updates!

Supercross Change Up

Tyler and I getting ready for qualifying at Indy. Photo: GuyB / Vital MX

Tyler and I getting ready for qualifying at Indy. Photo: GuyB / Vital MX

My brother, Tyler, entered in his first Monster Energy Supercross rounds in the 250 class at the Atlanta rounds, Daytona, Indianapolis, and East Rutherford. While I was having media credential issues throughout the opening rounds, I decided to put the camera down and pick up a pit board to support my brother. While I never touched the wrenching side of things (my dad and brother took care of all the bike prep), I had a couple of T-handles for the emergency adjustments within my intelligence scale in mechanics (which isn't much). It was a great experience and I want to thank GoldenTyre for their support at those rounds from the yellin' yellow setup to just a place to call home at the stadiums.
Tyler awaiting for a lucky pick in the alternate staging area at Daytona. This was as close as he got to the night show in 2015.

Tyler awaiting for a lucky pick in the alternate staging area at Daytona. This was as close as he got to the night show in 2015.

But for one thing, I got to really see a true behind the scenes look of what goes on and experience how insanely talented these riders are at what they have to go against week in and week out. For the top riders that make supercross tracks look so easy, I applaud you greatly. For the rest of the riders that make it look pretty rough out there, I applaud you as well. Supercross is not easy. If the general fan could see this angle of our sport that I saw, I think it'll turn some heads and really appreciate the athletes these riders are.

The Spring Nationals

A sign every racer loves to see on the last lap.

A sign every racer loves to see on the last lap.

When the spring arrives, the moto families come out of hibernation and hit the interstates to compete in numerous spring amateur national events. While there are a way too long of a list of spring nationals to go to, for me, I decided to cover the Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur SX in Florida (MXPTV has covered this race every year since its existence) and the James Stewart Freestone Championship in Texas.
Still boggles my mind that you can actually race within the banks of Daytona the days after the night SX.

Still boggles my mind that you can actually race within the banks of Daytona the days after the night SX.

The RC Daytona Amateur SX went off very well and I captured a lot of awesome clips including the wild grab of Daniel Baker and Chase Bell in probably the closest close call with a fall (if that makes any sense) I have ever seen. But the Daytona weekend was more than the Sunday & Monday amateur battles for me. I shot and produced a highlight video from the opening round of GEICO Endurocross on Friday night closer to the beach. And on the Wednesday / Thursday before, I stayed at Justin Starling's place (much thanks as always) and produced a fun riding video of many pros such as Kyle Cunningham, Kyle Peters, Aaron Lampi, Robert Lind, Starling himself, and many others getting ready for the challenging sands of Daytona, which the speedway was only 20 minutes away.
The James Stewart Freestone Championship at Freestone was an up and down event in Texas.

The James Stewart Freestone Championship at Freestone was an up and down event in Texas.

After Daytona, I checked my travel points and decided to throw those points to a trip to central Texas for my first visit to the James Stewart Freestone Championship. While I have been at Freestone in the past for a Lucas Oil Pro Motocross round, this was my first for this event. It was an up and down week with the big down being the passing of Tyler Hoeft after going down hard on the finish line jump early in the week. While I did not have video of the incident, I got Tyler going toward that finish line jump on the lap he had his crash on. The clip has another rider by him save a nasty swap in the Texas 12 pack battling with Tyler before the finish. This clip will probably not see the light of day but its pretty eery to see it as it was moments before his crash. Not a highlight at all but worth mentioning that this sport can have its low lights as well. Besides that severe low point, it was a successful week on my end capturing a lot of great racing action during the week. A lot of great battles all week long.

The Big Summer Stage

2015-05-23 14.08.44-1

Time to send it outdoors again! This photo is from right after our Glen Helen pre-race show, one of the best live shows we put together I believe that summer.

Back in January, I got a call from Alli Sports, who I did videos for at the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross rounds between the summers of 2011 through 2013. After a short hiatus, I got that call back to do work for them again but for a much different role. It was to direct and produce the series' pre-race web show, which showed on ProMotocross.com and NBC Sports' Live Extra app. A call I never really expected but was all about getting on board with. It didn't really hit me on how important the role I was involved in until they flew me out for their production meeting a month before the opening round.
2015-05-21 21.49.37

It was awesome to see our show on NBC Sports Live Extra app schedule against the world's top sports each weekend.

We went for our live show format at the Hangtown and Glen Helen rounds with Glen Helen going really smooth and Hangtown being total survival as a laundry list of issues happened during the show which you may have seen. It was a learning curve for everyone involved that day at Hangtown. New things such as me working with the TV compound, new switches on the TV side, and working with our new crew were a lot of obstacles to attack that we haven't done before. Would I wish things were more smooth and prepared? Of course. But it was a new experience for all of us and if it looked rough, it was the best we can do at that time. But compared to last year, the pre-race show didn't even air and we were on air for over 3 hours this year under my wing. So it was at least a positive out of that scenario. After Glen Helen, we went back to a taped format and it helped mold our work flow and crew much better proving a better product for the airwaves throughout the series. If you tuned in, a big thank you for watching and hope you were pumped up for the upcoming motos each weekend!
Big thanks to Jimmy and Georgia for making the pre-race show awesome! Oh, they are in full Red Budddd! mode here!

Big thanks to Jimmy and Georgia for making the pre-race show awesome! Oh, they are in full Red Budddd mode here!

I want to give a huge thank you to Jimmy and Georgia Albertson for being overall, great people, and willing to take the pressure from myself and the team at each round. Both of these 2 had such a busy schedule at every round between TV obligations for Georgia, live track announcing right after the pre-race show and Racer X work for Jimmy, and both of them working on their race team making their rounds around the pits for the 2016 season. They had a lot on their plate and made the time on Friday and Saturday to shoot our pre-race show. Jimmy had a nasty leg injury between Red Bud and Spring Creek rounds that left him hobbling around like an old man but he continued to work just as hard on the pre-race show and deliver each time. Big thanks to them for all their hard work. It was much appreciated!
We know how to push your buttons! Danny Stuart (picutred), Dillon Gwaltney, Matt Francis, Ben Lynn, and Joe Krolick were the pre-race show crew throughout the series.

We know how to push your buttons! Danny Stuart (picutred), Dillon Gwaltney, Matt Francis, Ben Lynn, and Joe Krolick were the pre-race show crew throughout the series.

It was not an easy task as we produced taped shows after Glen Helen but we were able to start live and end live on the season with a few live hits to close out the Indiana show.  Add in driving to all 12 rounds crossing coast to coast numbers of times, it was the hardest working summer I've ever done and would do it over and over again. Even Loretta Lynn's this year was way different than in the past. It was more of my week off at the dude ranch than a week on since I was between traveling from Washougal to Unadilla after that. It was a summer to remember! The new sights I saw on my venture around the country were worth the travels and it was good to check off driving to all 12 outdoor rounds off my moto bucket list.
2015-05-16 07.01.29-1

Our spot in the TV compound was small but the opportunity to work with TV in motocross was something I never thought I'd imagine in doing at this scale.

2015-05-23 12.38.01-1

Knock before you enter!

2015-05-15 15.50.07

Inside my vehicle, it was a busy, busy world of clicking, switching, and network pressuring each round to make the pre-race shows happen week in and week out.

I want to thank the hard working crew at Alli Sports & NBC Sports for the gracious opportunity as well as MX Sports for their support (specifically Davey Coombs for making the connection early on). We had our challenges each round but the entire crew did an exceptional job on improving the shows. What does 2016 have in store? I'm not sure at the moment but I'll be ready to improve the shows more and more if granted the opportunity again.
It was a wrap in Indiana! What a summer it was!

It was a wrap in Indiana! What a summer it was!

Falling Off in the Fall

Wide shot of Sleepy Hollow MX Park during the Boyesen 2 Stroke Shootout.

Wide shot of Sleepy Hollow MX Park during the Boyesen 2 Stroke Shootout.

After the Indiana round, I personally got so burnt out from being at the track that I wanted to get away for a bit. The traveling time behind the wheel for nearly 20,000 miles all summer long had me spent. But I had my obligations to a series of Fall events from the Baja Brawl to Sleepy Hollow's 2 Stroke Shootout to Kawasaki Race Of Champions to the Mini O's that I had to or chosen to cover prior. While this is the job I love to do more than anything else, I needed to break away from the action. My motivation was gone and I had to sit back and recharge. Keep in mind, I never really took a full break from this action in the past 7 years since I went full-time with MXPTV in the summer of 2008. While I was happy on how the past summer went, it did change my perspective of things and I needed that break from my norm and into a different norm.
Bowling has been a fun activity away from the track. Photo Michael Vizer

Bowling has been my fun activity away from the track. And I'm getting better and better. Photo: Michael Vizer

So if you seen my social media feeds, you may have seen some random bowling pictures get posted every now and then. No, I'm not really having a mid-life crisis or anything like that. Bowling is something I love to do for fun and has recently turned into something a bit more serious as my scores have improved greatly as of late. Is the PBA on the horizon? I'd like to say yes, but I'm keeping it fun with my 2 handed style now and enjoying my time at the lanes. There's just something about being at the bowling alley for me. It is my happy place, you may say, but also my getaway from the race track. Different people. Different atmosphere. It's a nice place to be for me.
Did quite a bit of riding in December on my month away from the cameras. Photo: Tyler Wozney

Did quite a bit of riding in December on my month away from the cameras. Photo: Tyler Wozney

I don't want to come off as not interested in motocross or anything like that but what I do here at MXPTV comes with a lot of sacrifices. Not having a steady income. Lots of time away from home. The daily stresses of what's next or not next. This job isn't all what you may think. It's more than seeing me at the track hitting the red button and trying to be in more than one spot at one time. While the passion is always there, simply put, the work side of it caught up to me. It got really rough for myself mentally to be at the track and continue the work I've been doing.
Hitting a trail near you!

Hitting a trail near you!

I just turned 30 this past Sunday so I have been seriously thinking about my future. I have everything pretty much invested in what I do now. The dollar amount of equipment I have purchased over the years to do what I do is pretty damn high. From vehicles to cameras to travel costs and more, the costs of doing this passion is not cheap at all. The sport is still fun though. I rode a few times in the past weeks and recently got a mountain bike for Christmas so riding is still a thrill for me. It's just the video side of things becoming more of a challenge than before.

So What's Next?

That's a big question this time of the year for me and the site. What is next? I want to go in a different direction but what is that different direction that will make what I do fun but practical at the same time without getting back in the norm? What can I tackle next without another visit to the bank's loan department? Will this next thing be valuable to our valuable viewers? There are already items in the works currently and I look to make 2016 a much different year.
Expect more on-demand features in the near your future as well as new episodes of Tale Of The 2 Stroke coming soon in 2016!

Expect more on-demand features in the near your future as well as new episodes of Tale Of The 2 Stroke coming soon in 2016!

If you recently saw this and last month, I released my first on-demand video platform with the Tale Of The 2 Stroke series. With the first episode featuring Tyler Wozney out now and available to rent at $3 and buy at $5, it has been doing well since I haven't sold a video to the public since the 2008 release of my Xtremey Award winning full-length DVD, "Moto Xposure 3: The Xposure Continues". Expect more of these episodes to hit our VHX on-demand site over the next number of months. They will be pretty different as they will not only support myself but also the rider featured in them so check them out! Another angle I'm looking into is continuing the live show platform. After doing a series of live shows at the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross rounds this summer, the equipment is already there and ready for the next show. When will the next one be? Not sure yet. Might be RC Daytona SX again in March? Or another large event later on? This platform is always in development and at the same time, ready for the next live show whenever that will be. If you are interested in getting involved, let me know at wozmxptv@gmail.com. To end out this Year In Review, I'd like to thank you, the viewer, for following MXPTV here on MXPTV.com or on our social outlets. I'd like to thank our contributors over the past year for their hard work. It's time to focus ahead to 2016 and produce what I believe is the best quality motocross content on the web today! Thanks for watching! See ya in the 16!
2013-02-04 18.47.19

That's me racing at Budds Creek back in early 2003.